hurry up and wait

Yeah, see that up there? The unofficial motto of the Marine Corps. Pretty much means that we get rushed around a lot and told to be places at certain times, only to spend a shit ton of time sitting around twiddling our thumbs. That’s kind of what’s going on right now at Fort Meade, but I honestly don’t really mind it. It was annoying at MCT, I admit, because we’d be forced to wake up 0400 and then we’d end up sitting around doing nothing until 0600, but here? It’s not so bad. Yeah, I got rushed over here right after MCT graduation only to find out that my classes don’t pick up until October, but things could be worse. At least here I get good PT, decent food, lots of free time, and I get treated like a real person.

And really, what more could you ask for?

Well, faster internet and less blocks on sites, I guess, but you can’t have everything, right? And I get weekends off here (even though I can’t wear civilian clothes or go off base for another week), which means chill time and sleeping in, so honestly, I really can’t complain. It’s nice here at Fort Meade. Or better than MCT or boot camp at least.

So in that sense, there isn’t really much to update on. When I get my camera (I’m having my mom send me a few of my personals), I might take pictures of a few things here and there, but other than that… I’m mainly just waiting to get off of limited liberty. And my first order of business? Go to a spa and get my hands and feet fixed, because that shit is nasty. I’ve never been to a spa, but I’ma go now, because I can’t walk around looking like this. I’ll never be able to wear open-toed shoes again.

Next order of business? Get some Asian food. I’ve already scouted a few places via yelp, so we’ll see how that goes.

In other news, our CO has scheduled a mandatory fun day for our squad, meaning we get to go to D.C! My squad is not amused, but I’m actually pretty stoked. I haven’t been to D.C. since that field trip in 8th grade, so y’know… Not to mention there’s bound to be hella good Vietnamese food there…

Leave a Reply

