The time has come…

This is it, ladies and gents. My recruiter’s driving me off to the hotel tonight, I’m going to MEPS (Military Entry Processing Station) tomorrow for my pre-ship check-up, and then on Tuesday I’m off to Parris Island. Which I have to say, I’m somewhat relieved about. I did a piss-poor job on my IST on Wednesday, but thank gods I’m shipping.

As for the documentary I’d mentioned previously, that didn’t end up happening. Apparently, it was a legit documentary for the Discovery Channel and my recruiter told me it was “reality show status,” meaning that a camera crew would be following me around for my last three days as a civilian. My recruiter told me that he honestly didn’t really want me to do it, because he wanted me to be able to relax and not have to worry about saying something stupid, which was a valid point. Also, after my IST, I just wasn’t feeling up for it, so in the end, I decided not to do it. I think it was the right move to make, considering it would have been awkward for all of the friends I’d hung out with, not to mention my roommate.

And good thing, because I didn’t do anything that interesting. Mostly watched movies with friends and ate food. And worked out.

Last thing! Because I obviously will not have access to the interwebs while I’m at boot camp, I have enlisted the help of my roommate (soon to be former roommate, sadly…) to help keep my blog going. I’m planning on writing her letters, so I figured I’d get her to type of parts of those letters and post them up here. Huge thanks to ndjmom for suggesting the idea!

Anyway, folks, this is it. I’ll see you in three months.

2 comments
  1. Josh said:

    Lena! I miss you already. I would wish you luck but I really don’t think you’ll need it. I hope you have an amazing experience. I’m looking forward to hearing all about it! Lots of love!

  2. ndjmom said:

    So glad you decided to continue this blog and forward letters to your room mate. I’m going to repost to my blog, not promising you’ll get a ton of comments when you get back, but let’s see what who pops out of the Marine Family. Semper Fi and I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

